Writing

Dogs

Dogs

Dear Santa,
I know I’m a little too old
to be writing to you
but I pray to a God
that I know probably doesn’t exist
so I guess I can’t see the harm
in trying.

This year for Christmas
I want a puppy
I’ll even pay for it myself
if I can scrounge up the money
to pay the security deposit
buy the dog
the shots
the food
the love.

You see Santa
I really need this dog.
I’m starting to think
I might have messed up a bit
chosen the wrong major
the wrong girlfriend
the wrong life
but I’m four years into this.
I’m eighty thousand dollars into this.
I’m not about to turn around.

But if I had a dog,
something to love me
the way she can’t
I’m pretty sure
I could hold on
one more day.

Leave a Reply

